Hypermarket culture coming to Pakistan

carrefourDubai and other UAE Emirates have number of hypermarkets, where millions of people come for shopping everyday.  Hypermarket is an ultra large supermarket, where you can get almost everything that is in your mind. Also there are many brands that give you the facility of choice and price comparison.

In Pakistan, recently two groups MAKRO and METRO have opened such types of markets. In Lahore, last week I visited a MAKRO outlet. I was amazed to see the level of service and interior decoration. First time in Pakistan, ramp escalators are  provided for taking trolleys to the parking area.  I spoke to the HSE Manager of hypermarket about various issues. Gentlman told me that the company was earning 10 million Rupees per day from each facility, two in Lahore and three in Karachi. He added that after two months entry will be permitted only to the card owners. Cards will be issued to the families after the cross purchase limit of 5000 Rupees in 2 months.

I commented that it was not good to restrict the customers by issuing such cards. he replied me that the management wanted to keep the environment a good one so that the elderly people can enjoy shopping without having crowd of people.

I am very happy to see such things coming to Pakistan. They will not only facilitate people but will also educate them. On the other side, such facilities will generate lot of job opportunities for the youngsters.

2 comments

  1. I was also surprised to see Makro Hypermarket near Jinnah Terminal when I was travelling back to Saudia Arabia. That is spacious and well- managed market with well-mannered and dedicated sales people. A large number of people were busy purchasing various commodities for their homes & offices. Makro is not less than the other hypermarkets which I have seen in Jeddah like Panda, Geant and carrefore. I’m glad to know that we’ve more than 5 Makro Hypermarket branches in Pakistan and they are still expanding with other world-class Hypermarket chains gradually in various cities of my dearest country. I wish you all the best and hope you will keep up your copetitive edge, honesty and quality with others.
    Long live Pakistan
    Pakistan is my Love And I missed my people and country a lot…
    Nauman
    D.G.Khan

  2. I was also surprised to see Makro Hypermarket near Jinnah Terminal when I was travelling back to Saudia Arabia. That is spacious and well- managed market with well-mannered and dedicated sales people. A large number of people were busy purchasing various commodities for their homes & offices. Makro is not less than the other hypermarkets which I have seen in Jeddah like Panda, Geant and carrefore. I’m glad to know that we’ve more than 5 Makro Hypermarket branches in Pakistan and they are still expanding with other world-class Hypermarket chains gradually in various cities of my dearest country. I wish you all the best and hope you will keep up your copetitive edge, honesty and quality with others.
    Long live Pakistan
    Pakistan is my Love And I missed my people and country a lot…

Leave a Reply

